We remain grateful to alumni of our Division for their time and role in furthering patient care, education, and research at Henry Ford Hospital. As we near Henry Ford Hospital’s 100th anniversary in 2015, we recognize the accomplishments of our former staff and encourage other alumni to send us news and remembrances.

Kenneth V. Leeper, M.D.

Dr. Leeper completed his residency in Internal Medicine in 1982 and Fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine in 1987 at Henry Ford Hospital. He was associate professor and the Director of the Medical Intensive Care Unit and Respiratory Therapy for 10 years at the University of Tennessee in Memphis. Dr. Leeper is currently Director of the Medical Intensive Care Unit and Respiratory Services at Emory University Hospital Midtown. He has served as the Medical Director of the Long Term Hospital at Wesley Woods, Section Chief of Pulmonary at Emory University Hospital Midtown and Director of the Clinical Study Center at the Atlanta VA Medical Center. He is currently the Chairman of the Emory University Hospital Midtown Critical Care Committee.

Paul Harkaway, M.D.

Dr. Harkaway completed his Residency in Internal Medicine at St. Joseph Mercy Hospital in Ann Arbor in 1984 and his Fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine in 1986 at Henry Ford Hospital. He is a practicing physician with the Pulmonary and Critical Care Division of Michigan Multispecialty Physicians PC and serves as the President of the Huron Valley Physicians Association in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The Association has more than 700 physician members in Washtenaw, Livingston, Lenawee, and Western Wayne counties.

Mark Kelley, M.D.

Dr. Kelley joined Henry Ford Health System in 2000 as CEO of the Henry Ford Medical Group and also served as Chief Medical Officer of Henry Ford Health System. A Harvard Medical School graduate and pulmonologist and critical care specialist at the University of Pennsylvania Health System, he performed clinical work with our Pulmonary Division while at Henry Ford. Over the course of his 12 years as CEO and CMO, Henry Ford earned the “Triple Crown” in health care quality: the Codman Award, the John Eisenberg Award, and the Baldrige Award. In 2012 Dr. Kelley retired from Henry Ford when he was chosen as one of 25 leaders globally to serve a yearlong fellowship with Harvard's Advanced Leadership Initiative.

Richard G. Wunderink, MD

Dr. Wunderink completed his fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Medicine at Henry Ford Hospital in 1985. He is Professor of Medicine in the Pulmonary and Critical Care Division of Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine and Medical Director of the MICU and of Respiratory Therapy Services, Northwestern Memorial Hospital. Dr Wunderink has been active in research and education regarding on pulmonary infections, particularly ventilator-associated pneumonia and community-acquired pneumonia, and sepsis.