Henry Ford Radiation Oncology Receives 3-Year ACR Accreditation

November 15, 2016

DETROIT — Henry Ford Health System’s Department of Radiation Oncology has been awarded a three-year term of full accreditation by the American College of Radiology (ACR).

The ACR seal of accreditation represents the highest level of quality and patient safety. It is the nation’s oldest and most widely accepted radiation oncology accrediting body, with more than 25 years of accreditation experience.

ACR accreditation has been awarded to all of Henry Ford’s five radiation oncology sites: Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, Henry Ford West Bloomfield Hospital, Henry Ford Macomb Hospital-Clinton Township, Henry Ford Medical Center-Cottage in Grosse Pointe Farms, and Henry Ford Cancer Institute-Downriver in Brownstown.

ACR reviewers spent three days at the Henry Ford radiation oncology sites, rigorously reviewing patient charts, plans and quality assurance policies, as well as meeting with teams at each location.

Accreditation is given only to facilities meeting specific Practice Guidelines and Technical Standards developed by ACR after a peer-review evaluation by board-certified radiation oncologists and medical physicists who are experts in the field.

To achieve ACR accreditation, a facility’s personnel qualifications, equipment requirements quality assurance and quality control procedures must undergo a rigorous review process and meet specific qualifications.

The findings are reported to the ACR Committee on Radiation Oncology Accreditation, which subsequently provides the practice with a comprehensive report they can use for continuous improvement.

The ACR is a national professional organization serving more than 36,000 diagnostic/interventional radiologists, radiation oncologists, nuclear medicine physicians, and medical physicists with programs focusing on the practice of medical imaging and radiation oncology and the delivery of comprehensive health care services. To learn more, visit ACR.

For more information about Henry Ford’s Department of Radiation Oncology, go to Radiation Oncology.

Krista Hopson Boyer