Henry Ford Vattikuti Urology Institute Director, Staff Honored by European Association of Urology

March 29, 2018

DETROIT – Mani Menon, M.D., director of the Vattikuti Urology Institute (VUI) at Henry Ford Hospital, and fellows Firas Abdollah, M.D. and Deepansh Dalela, M.D. each recently earned awards at the 33rd Annual European Association of Urology (EAU) Congress in Copenhagen, Denmark.


Dr. Mani Menon

EAU Secretary General Prof. Chris Chapple honored Dr. Menon with an Honorary Lifetime Membership. “We appreciate your contribution to Urology over many, many years and wanted to acknowledge that,” Chapple told the EAU members in attendance.

Dr. Menon's contributions to Urology have spanned nearly four decades. He was the pioneer for establishing robotic surgery in Urology and started the world's first structured training program in robotic surgery at VUI, Henry Ford Hospital. He also described the standard techniques for robotic prostatectomy (known as the Vattikuti Institute Prostatectomy), robotic kidney and adrenal surgery, and robotic cystectomy.

His techniques have been replicated and performed millions of times across the globe. He is an active and avid researcher, and continues to be thoroughly involved with the ongoing research projects at VUI, steers multi-institutional collaborations with other leading centers across the globe, and true to his ideals, continues to perfect the technique for robotic prostatectomy, including the recently-published Retzius-sparing approach. Dr. Menon was the senior author of that study and was intimately involved with all aspects of study design.


Dr. Firas Abdollah

Dr. Abdollah received first prize for the best abstract by a resident-in-training for work on identifying the optimal candidates for adjuvant radiation therapy in post-prostatectomy patients with node-positive prostate cancer. 

Dr. Abdollah is a Robotics fellow at the VUI and is a prolific researcher with nearly 300 publications in the field of urologic oncology. In this novel study, Dr. Abdollah, Dr. Dalela and their colleagues looked at the outcomes of nearly 5500 patients with node-positive prostate cancer who had undergone radical prostatectomy between 2004-2015 across the U.S. and were treated with adjuvant hormone therapy.

They identified specific subgroups of men who would have mortality benefit with the addition of adjuvant radiation therapy. This can help identify men who would truly benefit from additional radiation therapy and spare unnecessary treatment for those who are unlikely to benefit.


Dr. Deepansh Dalela

Dr. Dalela was awarded the EAU Hans Marberger Award 2018 for the best paper published in Minimally Invasive Surgery in Urology for his study entitled "A Pragmatic Randomized Controlled Trial Examining the Impact of the Retzius-sparing Approach on Early Urinary Continence Recovery After Robot-assisted Radical Prostatectomy". This was published in European Urology (Dalela et al. Eur Urol. 2017 Nov;72(5):677-685) and had the highest impact factor journal in Urology (impact factor 16.3). 

This study provided Level 1 evidence that a novel approach of performing robotic radical prostatectomy provides faster urinary continence recovery after surgery (compared to the standard approach), which is one of the most important determinants of patient satisfaction after radical prostatectomy. 

The Hans Marberger award, annually awarded since 2004, is named after Prof. Hans Marberger to honor his pioneering achievements and contributions to endourology and the development of urologic minimally invasive surgical procedures. It is one of the most important honors bestowed by the European Association of Urology annually. Dr. Dalela is the youngest recipient of this award, and it puts him in an elite group comprising researchers from highly-respected institutions across the U.S. and Europe.



Jeff Adkins

[email protected]

(586) 307-2027