Bartimaeus Awards

On Sunday, October 5, 2021 The Eye and The Chip Bartimaeus Award Ceremony was held during the virtual congress. The coveted Bartimaeus Award was presented to one of the research scientists chosen by previous Bartimaeus Award recipients for his/her contribution to advancing the field of artificial vision. This year Philip R. Troyk, Ph.D. was the winner of the Bartimaeus award. Dr. Troyk is a Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, the Executive Director of the Pritzker Institute of Biomedical Science and Engineering, and Affiliated Professor in the Stuart School of Business at the Illinois Institute of Technology.

Over 85 researchers from around the world were present virtually for this special occasion.

Bartimaeus Award Recipients 2004-2021

The Bartimaeus Award is presented to an investigator who has distinguished himself or herself by prolonged substantial contributions to the progress in this field of The Eye and The Chip.

Philip R. Troyk, Ph.D. (2021)
Professor – Department of Biomedical Engineering
Illinois Institute of Technology
Chicago, Illinois
Professor Nigel Lovell, Ph.D. (2012)
University of South Wales 
Sydney, Australia
Dr. Daniel Palanker, Ph.D. (2019)
Professor of Ophthalmology and Electrical Engineering
Stanford University
Stanford, California
Mark Humayun, M.D., Ph.D. (2010)
Professor of Ophthalmology
Biomedical Engineering, Cell and Neurobiology
Keck School of Medicine of the 
University of Southern California
Associate Director of Research, Doheny Eye Institute
Los Angeles, Calif. 
Shelly Fried, Ph.D. (2017)
Associate Professor
Department of Neurosurgery 
Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts General Hospital 
Robert Greenberg, M.D., Ph.D. (2010)
President & CEO 
Second Sight Medical Products, Inc.
Sylmar, Calif.
Gislin Dagnelie, Ph.D. (2016)
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
JHU Lions Vision Center
Baltimore, MD 
Richard Normann, Ph.D. (2008)
Distinguished Professor of Bioengineering 
and Ophthalmology
Moran Eye Center, University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah
James Weiland, Ph.D. (2014)
Professor of Ophthalmology & 
Biomedical Engineering
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA
Eberhart Zrenner, M.D. (2006)
Chair Professor of Ophthalmology
Center for Ophthalmology
Institute for Ophthalmic Research
University of Tuebingen
Tübingen, Germany
Gregg Suaning, Ph.D. (2012)
Associate Professor
University of South Wales
Sydney, Australia
Joseph Rizzo, M.D. (2004)
Co-Founder, Boston Retinal Implant Project
Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary
David G. Cogan Professor of Ophthalmology 
in the field of Neuro-Ophthalmology, 
Director of the Neuro-Ophthalmology Service 
Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts Eye & Ear 
Chair of Alumni Reunion 
Boston, Mass.

Schedule Appointment Online

Please call 911 if you have an emergency or urgent medical question.

Already a Henry Ford patient?
For the best experience, existing Henry Ford patients can request and self-schedule appointments through Henry Ford MyChart.

Henry Ford Health is committed to ensuring our Deaf or hard-of-hearing patients and visitors have equal access to all services. We provide the appropriate auxiliary aids and services, including qualified sign language interpreters, TTYs and other assistive listening devices, at no cost. To request assistance, call 313-916-1896 or email [email protected].

Schedule Appointment for