Exceptional Nurses Honored with Clara Ford Nursing Excellence Awards

May 10, 2019

DETROIT – Henry Ford Health System recently hosted its eighth-annual Clara Ford Nursing Excellence Awards ceremony at Henry Ford Hospital. Six registered nurses from Henry Ford were honored for their dedication to patients, the community and the health system. This year, more than 70 nurses from throughout the health system were nominated. 

“The Clara Ford Nursing Excellence Award recipients are remarkable representatives of our 7,500 Henry Ford nurses, who have mastered the art and science of health care and healing, living our mission every day,” said Barbara Rossmann, chief nursing officer of Henry Ford Health System. “Our honorees’ stories help highlight the impact nurses have on patients’ lives and our collective ability to deliver nation-leading care.”

The 2019 Clara Ford Nursing Excellence Award recipients by category are:

  • Affordable, Efficient Care that Provides Value
    • Shawn Murphy, R.N. – Home Healthcare, Southfield
  • Compassionate & Committed People
    • Stephanie Gibson, R.N. – Henry Ford Macomb Hospital
    • Kimberly Robinson, R.N. – Home Healthcare, Downriver
  • Safest Care and Best Outcomes
    • Denise Robinson, R.N. – Henry Ford Hospital
  • Exceptional Experience
    • Ellen Lesko, R.N. – Henry Ford Wyandotte Hospital
    • Sarah Szymaszek, R.N. – Home Healthcare, Downriver

Henry Ford Health System’s Chief Nurse Executive Council served as the selection committee. The nominations were blinded, with no name or operating units attached, ensuring winners were selected based solely upon the merit of the nominee in relationship to the above categories.

Established in 2012, this award was created under the leadership of Veronica “Ronnie” Hall, R.N., and named in honor of Clara Ford, who was instrumental in the opening of the Henry Ford Hospital School of Nursing in 1925. This year, an additional and surprise award was presented to Hall in recognition of her exemplary leadership as chief nursing officer of Henry Ford Health System from 2011 until 2018, when she transitioned into her current role as president of Henry Ford Hospital.

With the history of Henry Ford nursing as its foundation, the Clara Ford Nursing Excellence Awards are bestowed upon nurses who are nominated by their colleagues, patients and patient families.


MEDIA CONTACT: Jeff Adkins / [email protected] / 586.307.2027


Cookie Consent

We use cookies to improve your web experience. By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use. Read our Internet Privacy Statement to learn what information we collect and how we use it.

Accept All Cookies