Henry Ford IBD Center Director Wins Lifetime Achievement Award

November 13, 2015


Henry Ford IBD Center Director receives Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award

ROYAL OAK, Mich. – Gastroenterologist Nirmal Kaur, director of the Henry Ford Center for Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD), has been honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America.

Dr. Kaur received the award, in conjunction with the Rosenthal Award for Patient Support and Care, on Nov. 12. The ceremony took place at the CCFA Michigan Chapter’s 38th Annual Gala Evening at the Movies at Emagine Theatre in Royal Oak.

“This award is presented to those who demonstrate uncommon leadership and have contributed in an indisputable way to the quality of life of Crohn’s and colitis patients and families through patient service, professional education or advocacy activities,” says Melissa Greer, executive director of the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America. “Dr. Kaur is a true leader in this area.”

Dr. Kaur serves as a member of CCFA Michigan’s Chief Medical Advisory Committee. She also leads CCFA committees on increasing awareness of IBD issues, and she serves as a CCFA advocate for IBD health.

As director of the Henry Ford IBD Center, Dr. Kaur says she’s driven by the desire to help patients by connecting them with the latest treatments and information on IBD issues.

The Henry Ford IBD Center is the first of its kind in Michigan, bringing together a team of award-winning specialists to provide comprehensive diagnosis and treatment of IBD for patients suffering from ulcerative colitis or Crohn’s disease.

“I am deeply moved by this honor the CCFA has bestowed upon me,” says Dr. Kaur, who lives in Northville. “I feel very fortunate to be in a position to help those afflicted with IBD improve their lives on a daily basis.”

Dr. Kaur is also one of only two gastroenterologists in Michigan honored with the Bridges to Excellence recognition in Inflammatory Bowel Disease Care from the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA). The designation, also received by Henry Ford gastroenterologist and IBD specialist Jason Schairer, M.D., honors clinicians who demonstrate outstanding care in IBD.