Henry Ford Surgeon Named Chair of ABMS “Achieving the Vision” Professionalism Task Force

July 22, 2019
Christie Morgan MD DETROIT – Christie L. Morgan, M.D., senior staff surgeon in the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery at Henry Ford Health System, was named chair of the Professionalism Task Force for the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), Continuing Board Certification: Achieving the Vision Initiative. ABMS is the leading organization that oversees the standards for physician Board Certification in the United States. 

Dr. Morgan will lead the Professionalism Task Force, which is dedicated to developing approaches to evaluate professionalism and professional standing for physicians. Members of the Task Force will work with other stakeholder organizations to explore approaches to future assessment of professionalism and enhance consistency in judgments regarding professional standing.

“As physicians, we have a responsibility to conduct ourselves professionally and ethically in the best interest of our patients, the communities we serve, and our fellow healthcare providers,” Dr. Morgan said. “I am honored to serve as chair of this Task Force and work alongside my colleagues to help improve healthcare for everyone.”

The Professionalism Task Force is one of five “Continuing Board Certification: Achieving the Vision” Task Forces. With guidance from the ABMS Oversight Committee, these Task Forces are working to implement key recommendations outlined by the “Continuing Board Certification: Vision for the Future” Commission. 

Selected for their expertise, knowledge, and representation of a broad stakeholder community each Task Force member brings significant experience in his/her professional area. They are committed to ensuring that the continuing board certification process brings value to practicing physicians as well as the patients, families, and communities served. 

Dr. Morgan is Board Certified in Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery by the American Board of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery. She earned her medical degree from Boston University School of Medicine in 2009, her Master of Science degree in Physiology and Biophysics at Georgetown University in 2005 and completed her residency training in Otolaryngology at Boston University Hospital in 2014. The Immediate Past Chair of the Young Physicians Section Governing Council at the American Medical Association, Dr. Morgan joined Henry Ford in 2017.


MEDIA CONTACT: Jeff Adkins / 586-307-2017 / [email protected]